Boroughs of New York City

New York's various boroughs were created when the city was established. Learn in-depth information about each of these districts and what to see in each of them. 

To learn a little more about New York, we'll explain a little about the geography of its different districts, also called boroughs.


New York is composed of five boroughs: Manhattan, Brooklyn, Queens, the Bronx and Staten Island.

Each borough is part of five of New York's counties:  Manhattan is part of the County of New York, Brooklyn is part of the County of Kings, Queens (County of Queens), the Bronx is part of the Bronx County and Staten Island (Richmond County). Until 1898, when these counties were joined, the city of New York was only formed by Manhattan.

Although each borough has a president, their role is very limited since the management is highly centralized by the Mayor of New York. So as not to focus attention on Manhattan in politics they often refer to New York as "The Five Boroughs".

Distritos de Nueva York


Manhattan is New York’s most famous borough. In fact, most people believe Manhattan to be a synonym of New York.


Brooklyn, which is seperated from Manhattan by the East River, is probably the second most famous district of New York after Manhattan.


Although not the most famous, Queens is the largest and fastest evolving district of New York. Discover what to see in Queens and how to get there.

The Bronx

During the 20th century, the Bronx was synonymous with poverty and crime. In recent years, the borough has taken a 180º turn. Find out what to see in the Bronx.

Staten Island

Staten Island is located in the southernmost district of New York City and is the least-known to tourists. Discover what to see on Staten Island and how to get there.

How to Visit the Boroughs?

If you want to explore the rest of New York's boroughs, the easiest and safest option is to book our New York Contrasts Tour. This unique tour includes discovering each district and enjoying its architecture, people and culture.